Get In Touch
Grand rue 29,
CP 116 1110 Morges,
CH-Vaud Switzerland,
[email protected]
Work Inquiries
[email protected]
Ph: +41.21.561.34.96

Tesla Wants Drivers To Pay $199/Month To Unlock Full Self-Driving

Image via betto rodrigues /

Instead of shelling out US$10,000 upfront for full self-driving capabilities, Tesla owners can now opt for a monthly subscription of US$199 instead.

The electric car maker recently introduced this subscription model to make its self-driving software more accessible to owners who can’t afford to pay for it at once. The subscription isn’t a long-term commitment either, as customers will be allowed to opt out at any time.

Despite calling it a full self-driving, the software doesn’t render the vehicle fully autonomous. “The currently enabled features require a fully attentive driver, who has their hands on the wheel and is prepared to take over at any moment,” Tesla said on its website.

The company rolled out a new beta of the software earlier this month, but it’s still prone to making mistakes. Tesla CEO Elon Musk had even asked customers to “please be paranoid” when making use of the feature.

There have been accidents involving the automaker’s self-driving feature, with a family of a 15-year-boy bringing a lawsuit against the firm after their son was killed in a crash with a Tesla on Autopilot. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has also announced an investigation into the software’s possible involvement in 30 different crashes.

For more information on Tesla’s full self-driving software and the subscription plan, head over here.

[via Insider, cover image via betto rodrigues /]
Author avatar

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose country or region

Kainjoo is a group of companies with the sole purpose of bringing brands performances to life in complex industries. We have a global reach with partners and representatives located in all time zones. 

China (Mandarin | English)
Japan (Japanese | English)
Singapore (English)
Australia (English)
India (English)
South Korea (English)

Switzerland (English | French | German)
United Kingdom (English)
France (French | English)
Germany (German | English)
Spain (Spanish| English)
Italy (Italian| English)
Ukraine (Russian| English)
Russian Federation (Russian| English)

Canada (English | French)
United States of America (English)