Get In Touch
Grand rue 29,
CP 116 1110 Morges,
CH-Vaud Switzerland,
[email protected]
Work Inquiries
[email protected]
Ph: +41.21.561.34.96

Facebook Halts Oculus Quest 2 Sales Due To Skin Irritation Concerns

Image via Oculus

Facebook has stopped sales of the Oculus Quest 2 after several users reported skin irritation issues caused by its foam faceplate.

Existing Quest 2 users will be offered a silicone cover for their faceplate, which will also be included with every Quest 2 when sales resume on August 24.

According to Rock Paper Shotgun, it seems the company was already aware of the issue last year, when it made a blog post about skin irritation affecting “about 0.01% of people” using the virtual-reality headset.

It said the complaints were similar to those of other headgear such as ski goggles. However, it does seem that more complaints have rolled in, causing sales to be halted completely.

Since then, Facebook has confirmed that customers’ skin concerns are not due to an allergic reaction, but are offering the replacement silicone cover “as part of a joint voluntary recall of the Quest 2 removable foam facial interface with the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and Health Canada.”

“In addition, we’ve been communicating with global regulators and are taking the extra step of temporarily pausing sales of Quest 2 globally while we work to include the new silicone covers in all Quest 2 packages. The new silicone cover fits over the Quest 2 removable foam facial interface and starting on August 24, all Quest 2 headsets will come with a silicone cover included in every box,” Facebook added.

If you’re a Quest 2 owner, head over here to request for the free silicone cover.

[via Rock Paper Shotgun, cover image via Oculus]
Author avatar

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose country or region

Kainjoo is a group of companies with the sole purpose of bringing brands performances to life in complex industries. We have a global reach with partners and representatives located in all time zones. 

China (Mandarin | English)
Japan (Japanese | English)
Singapore (English)
Australia (English)
India (English)
South Korea (English)

Switzerland (English | French | German)
United Kingdom (English)
France (French | English)
Germany (German | English)
Spain (Spanish| English)
Italy (Italian| English)
Ukraine (Russian| English)
Russian Federation (Russian| English)

Canada (English | French)
United States of America (English)